39 Clio Cups for the French Grand Prix weekend

Round six of the Clio Cup Europe held within the Formula 1® Emirates Grand Prix de France 2021 will see 39 drivers in action at Circuit Paul Ricard for an exceptional meeting where the battles for the titles will intensify.

Enticed by the unique prospect of demonstrating their racing skills, the best competitors from across Europe are ready to battle on Renault’s home turf to achieve a single goal: to win in the superb setting that is the French Grand Prix!

A duel for supremacy?

The two stars of the category, David Pouget (GPA Racing) and Nicolas Milan (Milan Compétition) have already won eight of the first ten races of the year. In their constant battle on Europe’s best circuits, the Frenchmen have widened the gap and one of them is sure to leave Le Castellet in command of the Clio Cup Europe.

Separated by only five points, both intend to feature in the calendar’s showpiece event but they will be up against 37 rivals, led by Kevin Jimenez (GPA Racing), who is getting closer to scoring his maiden victory as he demonstrated at Misano. The driver from Toulouse will not be the only one to aim for the top step of the podium as Marc Guillot (Milan Compétition), Anthony Jurado (Milan Compétition) and Thibaut Bossy (TB2S) will also hope to hear La Marseillaise ring out in their honour.

Alejandro Schimpf (Cota Automoción) and Jordi Palomeras (GPA Racing) from Spain will do everything they can to deny their competitors such a pleasure. An ambition shared by 2017 Clio Cup Spain winner Alex Royo (Team VRT) who makes his return to the discipline.

Will anyone end the dominance of Jimenez?

Kévin Jimenez will look to distance himself from his pursuers in the Challengers Cup, which include Albouy (GPA Racing), Jerzy Spinkiewicz (Uniq Racing) and Mathieu Lannepoudenx (Milan Compétition), who will all try to bring an end to his string of victories.

At the same time, Mickaël Carrée (T2CM), Paul Cocaign (TB2S), Guillaume Maio (GM Sport) and Antoine Bordagaray (Team Borda Rally) will rely on their knowledge of the track to make up ground to the leaders. The Spanish contingent of Nicolas Abella (Chefo Sport), Daniel Nogales (Cota Automoción - Team VRT), Eric Zabala (Team VRT) and Ivan Riera (Chefo Sport) will also look to make a statement in this prestigious meeting.

The category will be reinforced by German Henrik Seibel (Shlaug Motorsport), Yeraly Ospanov (Milan Compétition) from Kazakhstan, and the Clio Cup return of Clément Chetcuti (GPA Racing) and Stéphane Eychenne (GM Sport).

Wide-open among the Gentlemen Drivers

In the Gentlemen Drivers category, the duel will resume between "Horn" (GPA Racing) and Laurent Dziadus (Team Licas) but Jérémy Bordagaray (Team Borda Rally) could create a surprise as could Lionel Viguier (TB2S), Stephan Polderman (Chefo Sport) and Javier Cicuendez (Team VRT).

Fabien Julia (LR Performance), Michel Faye (GM Sport), René Steenmetz (Chefo Sport) and Guy Frey (T2CM) will try to keep their title hopes alive. The leaders will also have to be wary of Joaquin Rodrigo (Vearsa Sport) and Gabriel Alonso (GPA Racing). Fabien Rivals (GPA Racing) will be another driver to keep an eye on after his outings in the Clio Cup in France last year.

Two other newcomers complete the entry list. Michel Leal (Milan Compétition) and Florent Grizaud (GPA Racing), who have respectively previously raced in the Trophée Tourisme Endurance and TC France!

The two qualifying sessions and the two races for this exceptional meeting, in support of the Emirates Formula One French Grand Prix, will be aired with live commentary on the Renault Sport Series Facebook page and Renault Sport YouTube channel.


Friday 18 June
9h10-9h40: Collective test 1
12h55-13h25: Collective test 2
17h00-17h20: Qualifying 1

Saturday 19 June
9h00-9h20: Qualifying 2
13h45-14h15: Race 1 (25 minutes + 1 lap)

Sunday 20 June
10h25-10h55: Race 2 (25 minutes + 1 lap)

Entry list