Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 - Circuito de Jerez
Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 - Circuito de Jerez
Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 - Circuito de Jerez

Two races for the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 were on the programme this Saturday at Circuito de Jerez. Starting from pole position in the opener, Jack Aitken (Koiranen GP) maintained his advantage to score his fourth win of the season ahead of Kevin Jörg (Josef Kaufmann Racing) and Ignazio D’Agosto (Manor MP Motorsport). After clinching the Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS crown last weekend, the British-Korean driver repeated in race two, ahead of Ignazio D’Agosto and Ben Barnicoat (Fortec Motorsports). Failing to finish on the podium, Louis Delétraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) lost the lead in the general classification for the first time this season. Jack Aitken is the new leader and only Louis Delétraz and Kevin Jörg can deprive him of the title. Harrison Scott (AVF) was the best placed rookie in the two races.

In the morning, Jack Aitken came up big in taking the pole position for both races to get the advantage from his seven rivals for the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 title.

Aitken wins and takes the lead in the general classification

The race started in wet conditions and behind the safety car. After five laps marked by the retirements of Amaury Richard (ARTA Engineering), Max Defourny (ART Junior Team), Bruno Baptista (Manor MP Motorsport) and Darius Oskoui (ART Junior Team) the race was stopped before re-starting behind the safety car.

Jack Aitken quickly pulled away from Kevin Jörg to go on for a 14-second margin of victory from the Swiss driver. Third and fifth on the last lap, Ben Barnicoat and Dennis Olsen (Manor MP Motorsport) dropped out. Ignazio D’Agosto inherited third place ahead of Louis Delétraz and Jake Hughes (Koiranen GP), who started 10th. Sixth place went to Matevos Isaakyan (JD Motorsport) ahead of Anthoine Hubert (Tech 1 Racing), who started 16th. Martin Kodrić (Fortec Motorsports), Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team) and the highest finishing rookie Harrison Scott (AVF) completed the top ten.

Aitken doubles up

Race two began in a torrential rain storm. After a lap behind the safety car, the race was stopped until weather conditions improved. While the positions remained identical, the incident on lap eight between Anthoine Hubert and Valentin Hasse-Clot (Fortec Motorsports) brought the title hopes of Antoine Hubert to an end as well as provoking another safety car period.

The green flag was waved for the last lap in which Jack Aitken was able to complete his perfect day with another victory ahead of Ignazio D’Agosto and Ben Barnicoat. Kevin Jörg and Louis Delétraz finished in the top five and were followed by Matevos Isaakyan and Jake Hugues, who got the better of Dennis Olsen. Martin Kodrić and Thiago Vivacqua (JD Motorsport) were the final point scorers.


Jack Aitken: “The weather made it much different than what we are used to at Jerez. Nevertheless, our approach remained the same and the fact that we had a wet session last weekend in the ALPS and to have won the championship gave us a slight advantage The safety car in race 1 was needed due to the standing water and Kevin isn’t the fastest driver on a wet track, so we were able to pull away. In race 2, my biggest scare came during the formation lap. However, I won and our approach will be the same tomorrow!”

Ignazio D’Agosto: “It wasn’t at all easy today with the rain. I am happy with these podium finishes because we have been fast all season, but we have been a little unlucky. Today, the situation was reversed because I benefited from the retirement of Barnicoat in race 1. The team earned this result and I hope to finish one step higher and win!”

Provisional general classification * : 1. J. Aitken – 206 points, 2. K. Jörg – 193, 3. L. Delétraz – 185, 4. A. Hubert – 154, 5. B. Barnicoat – 149… * Subject to confirmation of the results following the technical and sporting verifications

Race 1

Race 2

Drivers standings

Teams standings

Aitken Race 1 quotes

Aitken Race 2 quotes

HD picture