Aitken against all in Austria for the Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS third round

From Pau directly to Austria : Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS will head this weekend (22-24 May) towards the Red Bull Ring circuit for its third out of seven season’s venues. If the undisputed winner in France was the young French racing for Tech 1 Racing, Anthoine Hubert, the current leader in the Championship is however the Anglo/Korean Jack Aitken, who managed Race 2 win in Imola with Koiranen GP. Nine points behind him there is his team-mate Stefan Riener, for sure determined to cheer on his home track his twentieth birthday. Still with a car managed by the team lead by Afa Heikkinen is the current third overall the Brit Jake Hughes.

Watch out though in Austria for the 17 year-old Matevos Isaakyan, who scored a double 12 months ago in Red Bull Ring. The Russian (second in Pau Race 1), along with the Brazilian Thiago Vivacqua, will race under the JD Motorsport banner.

Cram Motorsport is also awaited. As usual the team will filed three cars, one each for the Swiss/Italian Matteo Ferrer, the American Travis Jordan Fischer (who impressed in Pau lapping with the best and scoring a seventh overall) and the other Russian Vasily Romanov.

Still among the Italians, Alessandro Perullo and Technorace will be back in the Series. After their absolute debut in Imola the Italian will thus be back. First for the Australian Anton De Pasquale that will join the event on yet another Koiranen GP car. There will be thus two Australian as James Allen (Arta Engineering) will regularly race in Austria.

Yet another novelty in Red Bull Ring will be the new sporting format that will foresee three race all on the usual distance of 25’ plus a lap. First green light is set for Saturday afternoon at 14.15 with the grid established by Q1 due in the morning. Race 2 and Race 3 are set for Sunday at 13.00 and 17.20 with Q2 at 9.45. All info will be available live on Twitter at @flp_renault. The two 60 minutes free practice sessions are set for Friday.

The standings after 4 races (top 5) : 1. Jack Aitken GBR (Koiranen GP) 75 ; 2. Stefan Riener AUT (Koiranen GP) 66 ; 3. Jack Hughes GBR (Koiranen GP) 61 ; 4. Matevos Isaakyan RUS (JD Motorsport) 43 ; 5. Thiago Vivacqua BRA (JD Motorsport) 31.

Retour en haut