The Italy area held the second round of its Clio R3T Trophy last weekend with a level 1 rally, with double points up for grabs. Luca Rossetti was the weekend’s big winner as he secured top honours. Ivan Ferrarotti is the new overall leader.

Four crews were left to battle for the win at the second event of the Italian Clio R3T Trophy after Aleks Humar withdrew just before the start. The winner of the season’s opening round at Rally Il Ciocco, Fabrizio Andolfi was the first to hit the front in Sanremo, before being penalised for arriving late at a time control. On the next stage, Giacomo Scattolon was handed the same penalty.

After inheriting the lead, Ivan Ferrarotti had to contend with the resurgent Luca Rossetti, who retook control of the race. The two men shared the majority of the stage wins and by the end of day one, the three-time European Champion held an 11.9 second lead over his closest rival. The next day, Ferrarotti made a final push but fell just short, finishing 3.9s behind Rossetti. At the end of this enthralling head-to-head battle, the Clio R3Ts secured a one-two finish in the two-wheel drive class.

As Rallye Sanremo was a level 1 event (coefficient 2), Rossetti claimed 50 points for his win, and another 10 for the most stage wins. He finished ahead of Ferrarotti (36 + 6), Scattolon (30) and Andolfi (24 + 2). In the overall standings, Ivan Ferrarotti is the new leader (65 points), ahead of Luca Rossetti (60) and Fabrizio Andolfi (54).

The next round in the Italy area will be Rally Targa Florio (21-23 May). This weekend, the trophy will get underway in the ALPS area, with the Critérium Jurassien (17-18 April).

Overall standings after Rallye Sanremo :
1- Ferrarotti 65 pts ; 2- Rossetti 60 ; 3- Andolfi 54 pts ; 4- Scattolon 30 pts

Upcoming events :
17-18 April : Critérium Jurassien (ALPS)
1-3 May : Rallye de Wallonie (Belgium)
15-17 May : Dieppe (France)
16-17 May : Sezoens Rallye (Belgium)
21-23 May : Rally Targa Florio (Italy)
21-23 May : Rallye du Chablais (ALPS)
30-31 May : Rallye Rias Baixas (Spain)

More information about the Clio R3T European Trophy is available on the website