Delétraz, king of qualifying

In both qualifying sessions it was Louis Delétraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) who set the fastest time. The 1m58s485 which Delétraz set in the first session, he improved to 1m57.398 in the second session.

Race 1 : Delétraz from pole to victory, much action in the middle of the field

The Swiss Louis Delétraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) raced from pole position to his second win of the season in race 1 of the Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup at Silverstone. Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team) finished second while Callan O’Keeffe (Fortec Motorsports) took his first podium of the season.

Sasahara, at the beginning being pushed by O’Keeffe, broke ultimately from the South African. Dennis Olsen (Manor MP Motorsport) overtook Darius Oskoui (ART Junior Team) to finish fourth. As fifth overall the Swiss Oskoui was also on the podium as the winner of the Rookie trophee. The Briton Scott Harrison (AVF), also taking part in the Eurocup, showed a good debut by finishing sixth. Seventh was another Eurocup driver Ignatio D’Agosto (Manor MP Motorsport) followed by second year FR2.0 NEC driver Kevin Jörg (Josef Kaufmann Racing) and young Scottish driver Colin Noble (MGR Motorsport). In tenth place finished another rookie : Alex Gill (Fortec Motorsports).

Teammates Henrique Chaves and Josef Zaruba (both AVF) fought for eleventh place. It was the Portuguese Chaves who won. Kart World Championship runner-up Nikita Mazepin (Josef Kaufmann Racing) held 14th place successfully. After the Russian Robin Hansson (Fragus BR Motorsport), Jehan Daruvala (Fortec Motorsports), Dries Vanthoor (Josef Kaufmann Racing) and Ferdinand Habsburg (Fortec Motorsports) crossed the finish line.

Race 2 : Delétraz deserved third win of the season after a long safety car period

In Race 2 the victory went again to Louis Delétraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing). Dennis Olsen (Manor MP Motorsport) and Kevin Jörg (Josef Kaufmann Racing) both finished for the first time of the year on the podium in second and third place. In the first lap in midfield Nikita Mazepin (Josef Kaufmann Racing) and Luke Chudleigh (Fortec Motorsports) collided. Both had to abandon the race.

The subsequent safety car period lasted until halftime. After the restart Delétraz took off and Dennis Olsen passed Kevin Jörg. Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team) and Callan O’Keeffe fought for a podium finish but had to be satisfied with fourth and fifth.

Harrison Scott (AVF) repeated his sixth place from Race 1 to finish in front of his teammate Josef Zaruba. The Belgian Max Defourny (ART Junior Team), was with eighth place the best rookie and now leads in the Rookie standing. Defourny was followed by member rookies Dries Vanthoor (Josef Kaufmann Racing), Darius Oskoui (ART Junior Team) and Alex GillI (Fortec Motorsports) in 11th place. The other rookies finished 15th (Daruvala), 16th (Habsburg), 19th (Claman de Melo) and Pontus Fredericsson 22nd. In the overall standings Louis Delétraz is two points ahead of Ukyo Sasahara.

Next event : 6 - 7 June at the Red Bull Ring (3 races).

For more information, visit the official websites and and join Formula Renault 2.0 NEC Facebook page.

Retour en haut