Double pole for Jack Aitken at Jerez

Saturday morning’s Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 qualifying session at the Circuito de Jerez ended with Jack Aitken (Koiranen GP) claiming pole for both the day’s races. Third in the overall standings, the British driver will head the Race 1 grid from championship rivals Kevin Jörg (Josef Kaufmann Racing) and Ben Barnicoat (Fortec Motorsports). Ignazio D’Agosto (Manor MP Motorsport) will start fourth, ahead of title hopefuls Louis Delétraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing), Dennis Olsen (Manor MP Motorsport) and Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team). Decided by the second-best times in the session, the grid for Race 2 will also be headed by Jack Aitken, with Ignazio D’Agosto, Ben Barnicoat, Kevin Jörg, Louis Delétraz, Dennis Olsen, Matevos Isaakyan (JD Motorsport), Jake Hughes (Koiranen GP) and Ukyo Sasahara lining up behind him. Currently fourth in the standings, France’s Anthoine Hubert (Tech 1 Racing) had a morning to forget and will start both races in 16th.

Group A

The fight to post the fastest time saw Louis Delétraz, Jack Aitken, Ben Barnicoat and Matevos Isaakyan (JD Motorsport) lock horns, with a lap of 1:39.989 giving Jack Aitken the edge from Ben Barnicoat and Louis Delétraz. Still in with a mathematical chance of winning the title, Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team) kept pace with his rivals to snatch fourth from Matevos Isaakyan in the closing minutes. The best-placed rookie was wildcard Max Defourny (ART Junior Team) in sixth.

Group B

Kevin Jörg (Josef Kaufmann Racing) and Ignazio D’Agosto (Manor MP Motorsport) fought it out for first place before the rain came down, causing Denis Bulatov (AVF) to slide off and the red flag to make an appearance. Despite the best efforts of his adversaries late on, Kevin Jörg held on to top the timesheets in 1:40.457, ahead of Ignazio D’Agosto, Dennis Olsen, rookie Alexey Korneev (JD Motorsport) and Jake Hughes (Koiranen GP).

Saturday’s two Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 races, which could prove decisive in the battle for the championship, get under way at 13:10 and 18:15, with the final race of the season taking place on Sunday.