The German Josef Kaufmann Racing team won the Teams’ Championship. Their driver Louis Delétraz (SUI) won the 2015 Drivers’ title and their other Swiss driver Kevin Jörg became the Vice Champion. Throughout the season the team had one of its four drivers 12 times on the highest step of the podium.

The team also looked after two rookies. The Belgian Dries Vanthoor, the 2015 RACB talent, showed his worth this year. He won one race at Assen and finished third in the rookie ranking (sixth overall). The Russian Nikita Mazepin, the youngest driver in the 2015 championship, showed real progress throughout the year to finish 12th overall and sixth in the rookie ranking.

The ART Junior Team finished second in the Team Championship. Their Japanese driver Ukyo Sashara, in his second year in the championship, gave it his all to finish third overall. They had two rookie drivers in the team too. Max Defourny showed his future potential to finish as Rookie of the Year and fourth overall. Swiss Darius Oskoui took this year very seriously to learn as much as possible and finished ninth overall.

Fortec Motosports had their work cut out for them with three of their four drivers being rookies. Jehan Daruvala, the Force India protégé, stood on the podium three times and is also one to watch. He finished third in the rookie ranking and fifth overall. Englishman Alex Gill had one podium finish and became eighth overall while Austrian Ferdinand Habsburg was not very lucky. An accident towards the end season prevented him from participating in the last two race weekends. The only non-rookie in the team, Callan O’Keeffe, did not finish the season as he got an opportunity to race in an F3 car.

In the team of Spaniard Adrian Valles, AVF, two drivers participated the full season: Josef Zaruba from the Czech Republic and Henrique Chaves from Portugal. Zaruba finished 11th overall and Chaves 13th. They also had a number of other drivers who wanted to know what a true competitive championship feels like.

MGR Motorsports, Mark Godwin’s team, looked well after Colin Noble (GBR). The team worked hard with Colin and it resulted in a steady season to finish as number ten overall.

Swedish Prizma Motorsport and their driver Pontus Fredricsson both came out of the FR1.6 championships. They went through a steep learning curve and managed a best result of 10th place in the first race at Assen.

New to the championship, driver/teammanager Bartek Mirecki of BM Racing from Poland had a lot to learn too. Getting to know the FR2.0 car in his first single seater season, his best result was 10th in the second race at the Nurbürgring and is now looking forward to next season to improve.

Canadian driver David Richert of the Inter Europol Competition team is one of the older drivers in the championship. But David showed that age really doesn’t matter in a fight for position during the races.

The teams of Manor MP Motorsport, Koiranen GP, Mark Burdett Motorsport, Fragus BR Motorsport, PositiOne Motorsport and TS Corse all participated in several races with several drivers throughout the season. All teams and drivers made it a memorable 10th season of the Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup.

The calendar for the 11th season of the Formula Renault 2.0 Nothern European Cup is looking good. Again seven race weekends with two or three races each and no changes in the six Formula 1 circuits the NEC visited this year. will once again provide live images of six of the seven events.

Website: and
Facebook: Formula Renault 2.0 NEC
Twitter: @FR2NEC