Kevin Jörg snares maiden pole of the season

Switzerland’s Kevin Jörg scored his first Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 pole of the season at the Circuit Bugatti Le Mans on Saturday, posting a fastest lap of 1:32.871 to lead the field. Team-mate Louis Delétraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) will join him on the front row, with Ben Barnicoat (Fortec Motorsports), Jack Aitken (Koiranen GP) and leading rookie Harrison Scott (AVF) completing the front five. Jake Hughes (Koiranen GP), the other member of the leading quartet in the standings, will start on the seventh row.

Group A

James Allen (ARTA Engineering), Matevos Isaakyan (JD Motorsport) and Anthoine Hubert (Tech 1 Racing) fought it out for early supremacy before Louis Delétraz eased into the lead and then raised the bar even higher with a lap of 1:33.010. That time was good enough for him to end the session out front, with Jack Aitken and Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team) behind him and Valentin Hasse-Clot (Fortec Motorsports) and Anthoine Hubert rounding off the top five.

Group B

Kevin Jörg was the first to dip under Louis Delétraz’s benchmark and then went even faster, the Josef Kaufmann Racing man lapping in 1:32.871 to lead the way from Ben Barnicoat and rookie Harrison Scott. Dennis Olsen (Manor MP Motorsport) and Simon Gachet (Tech 1 Racing) were the other drivers to make the top five.

The first of this weekend’s Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 races at the Circuit Bugatti Le Mans gets under way at 15:05.

Kevin Jörg: “I’m absolutely delighted with this first pole position. I put in two good laps to get it and it’s also good for the championship. I’m going to try and make my usual good start and then go for the win.”