Maiden pole for Anthoine Hubert

France’s Anthoine Hubert (Tech 1 Racing) claimed the first pole of his Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 career at Silverstone on Sunday, posting a time of 1:56.361 to set a new lap record for the category. The Equipe de France FFSA Circuit member will head the grid from Kevin Jörg (Josef Kaufmann Racing), with British duo Ben Barnicoat (Fortec Motorsports) and Jack Aitken (Koiranen GP) sharing the second row, followed by Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team) and Jake Hughes (Koiranen GP). Championship leader Louis Delétraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) will start seventh.

Group B

Thiago Vivacqua (JD Motorsport) was the first to venture out on the track but soon saw his time beaten as Jack Aitken, Jake Hughes and Kevin Jörg fought it out for top spot, a battle Jörg won with a time of 1:56.735. The Koiranen twosome came in behind him, with Simon Gachet (Tech 1 Racing) and Ignazio D’Agosto (Manor MP Motorsport) completing the session’s front five.

Group A

Anthoine Hubert dipped under Kevin Jörg’s benchmark time with only five minutes of the session remaining. His lap of 1:56.361 was not bettered, giving the Frenchman his first Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 pole ahead of Ben Barnicoat, Ukyo Sasahara, Louis Delétraz and Darius Oskoui (ART Junior Team).

The third and final Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 race of the Silverstone weekend starts at 14:05.