Malaysian Grand Prix Qualifying

Four Renault RS27 engined cars will start tomorrow’s Malaysian Grand Prix from the top ten.

Red Bull Racing-Renault’s Mark Webber will line up fourth behind polesitter Lewis Hamilton, Jenson Button and Michael Schumacher. In a tight qualifying that saw the top eight separated by under half a second, reigning world champion Sebastian Vettel set the sixth quickest time. The German used the harder tyre for his final run, thereby saving a further set of softs for tomorrow’s race.

Lotus F1 Team-Renault yet again had a competitive qualifying showing, with Kimi Raikkonen putting the E20 in fifth and Romain Grosjean seventh. Kimi will however start from tenth position after incurring a five place penalty for having changed his gearbox after practice yesterday.

Williams F1 Team-Renault was so close to making it to Q3, but Pastor Maldonado was pushed into 11th position just before the end of Q2. Team-mate Bruno Senna lines up behind in 13th position.

Heikki Kovalainen and Vitaly Petrov (Caterham F1 Team-Renault) will start the 56 lap race from 19th and 20th respectively.