Fabian Schiller (Team Marc VDS EG 0,0) and Pieter Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur) won the Sprint races on Sunday at Circuit Spa-Francorchamps. In dominating the AM Sprint, Fabian Schiller won ahead of Jelle Beelen (V8 Racing) and Miguel Ramos (Equipe Verschuur) to clinch the title. In the PRO category, Pieter Schothorst took a large step towards the title with the victory ahead of brother Steijn Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur) and Kevin Korjus (R-ace GP). Robert Kubica (Duqueine Engineering) finished fourth in the PRO Sprint race.

Sprint AM: Win and title for Fabian Schiller

After claiming his third pole of the season yesterday, Fabian Schiller held off Fredrik Blomstedt (R-ace GP) at turn one before pulling away. Behind, Jelle Beelen surprised Miguel Ramos while Fran Rueda (Team Marc VDS EG 0,0) began a spectacular drive through the field. On the penultimate lap, Fredrik Blomstedt dropped off the pace, allowing Jelle Beelen, Miguel Ramos and Fran Rueda to get by.

The top five went unchanged just until the chequered flag was waved. With another win Fabian Schiller clinched the title. Further back in the field, Christophe Hamon (Duqueine Engineering) won his duel with Andres Mendez (Oregon Team) for sixth place. Philippe Haezebrouck (R-ace GP), Adalberto Baptista (Oregon Team) and Jeroen Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur) completed the top ten.

Sprint PRO : Pieter Schothorst in control

Pieter Schothorst held on to the lead at the start against Steijn Schothorst and an incisive Robert Kubica. An incident eliminated Anders Fjordbach (High Class Racing), Nicky Pastorelli (V8 Racing) and Lonni Martins (Duqueine Engineering) while David Fumanelli (Oregon Team) dropped out soon after.

The battle for the lead between brothers turned to the advantage of Pieter Schothorst and his victory sees him extend his lead in the general classification. Steijn Schothorst is not eligible to score points; Kevin Korjus limited the damage in finishing third after he overtook Robert Kubica on lap two.

Markus Palttala (Team Marc VDS EG 0,0) completed the top five, followed by Jordan Grogor (V8 Racing), Raoul Owens (R-ace GP), Tanart Sathienthirakul (Team Marc VDS EG 0,0), Rodrigo Baptista (Oregon Team) and Dario Capitanio (Oregon Team).

Ils ont dit

Fabian Schiller (AM): “It was a good race. Once again, everything worked wonderfully and the car was fast despite the ballast. The team did a fantastic job, because our time in qualifying would have had us second in the PRO category. I don’t know what happened to Blomstedt, but he suddenly disappeared from my mirrors. This win clinches the title and this for the Team Marc VDS EG 0,0 debut season! Everyone in the team is happy, especially after our difficult weekend at Circuit Paul Ricard. As for the future, it all depends on how many Renault Sport R.S. 01s the team wants to enter next year, but I would love to be among the PROs! We will make a decision at the end of the season.”

Pieter Schothorst (PRO) : “I am enjoying this moment. To be on the podium with my brother is really special. We both deserve to be on it. I certainly didn’t get the best start – the first rolling start of Kubica was amazing -, but I managed to stay in the lead with Steijn, who was close behind all throughout the race. If we look back at the pre-season collective tests, Kevin Korjus was one of the fastest at Estoril so the finale is going to be hard. My goal will not be to score maximum points in Portugal, I just have to score enough to clinch the title.”

Classement général Endurance provisoire*
1. F. Blomstedt (R-ace GP) 82
2. M. Palttala - F. Schiller (Team Marc VDS EG 0,0) 69
3. K. Korjus (R-ace GP) 67
4. P. Schothorst - J. Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur) 58
5. R. Owens (R-ace GP) 53

Classement général PRO provisoire*
1. Pieter Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur) 116
2. Kevin Korjus (R-ace GP) 86
3. Markus Palttala (Team Marc VDS EG 0,0) 78
4. David Fumanelli (Oregon Team) 71
5. Lewis Williamson (Strakka Racing) 43

Classement général AM provisoire*
1. Fabian Schiller (Team Marc VDS EG 0,0) 153
2. Fran Rueda (Team Marc VDS EG 0,0) 123 (129)
3. Fredrik Blomstedt (R-ace GP) 115
4. Miguel Ramos (Equipe Verschuur) 91
5. Andres Mendez (Oregon Team) 64

*sous réserve de l’officialisation des résultats à l’issue des vérifications techniques et sportives.

Sprint AM starting grid - pdf

Sprint AM race - pdf

Sprint PRO starting grid - pdf

Sprint PRO race - pdf

Endurance classification - pdf

AM classification - pdf

PRO classification - pdf

Teams classification - pdf

Interview with Fabian Schiller - pdf