Red Bull Ring : Jörg : 2 - Delétraz : 1. Rookies : 3.

Teammates Kevin Jörg and Louis Delétraz (both Josef Kaufmann Racing) shared the first and second step of the three podiums at the Red Bull Ring. Jörg won 2 to 1. The three third places went to three different rookies : Jehan Daruvala (Fortec Motorsports), Alex Gill (Fortec Motorsports) and the youngest driver in the field, the 16-year-old Nikita Mazepin (Josef Kaufman Racing). Pole positions were in favour of Delétraz : 2 to 1.

Race 1

While Jörg and Delétraz, the two Josef Kaufmann Racing drivers, battled it out between them for first and second place, the fight for third, fourth and fifth was in full swing. Fourth placed Sasahara (ART Junior Team) lost the battle to finish 10th. And while Callan O’Keeffe pushed really hard, he couldn’t get passed rookie Daruvala. Alex Gill (Fortec Motorsports) pushed O’keeffe but had to be content with fifth place.

The early in the race collision between the rookies Ferdinand Habsburg (Fortec Motorsports) and Darius Oskoui (ART Junior Team), forced the last one retire from the race. Habsburg went on to finish 6th. Another victim of this collision was Colin Noble (MGR Motorsport) who had to retire with a bent suspension. Six rookies finished in the top 10.

Race 2

While Jörg raced from pole to finish, Daruvala and Delétraz battled for second place. In the second half of the race, the Swiss however prevailed. Alex Gill, who started from fourth, stood for the first time on the podium. The Briton also took the trophy for the best rookie.

Charlie Eastwood, who is now part of the AVF team, started and finished fifth. Ferdinand Habsburg (Fortec Motorsports) was not lucky on his home turf, he only finished 16th. The Austrian got a drive-through penalty for a jumpstart. The same penalty went to Ukyo Sasahara due to frequently ignoring the tracklimits. The Japanese finished the race in 18th place.

Race 3

The race was shortened to 20 minutes due to a delay in the schedule. Delétraz started from pole in front of Jörg. Alex Gill (Fortec Motorsports) initially held his third starting position but spun on his first lap. He managed to rejoin and after some good overtaking moves, finished ninth.

Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team) moved up to third place, followed by Mazepin who started from sixth. The reigning Kart World Championship runner-up Mazepin overtook in a daring move Sasahara to finish third.

Fourth place went to Callan O’Keeffe, who finished ahead of local man Ferdinand Habsburg (both Fortec Motorsports). Before a home crowd Habsburg managed his best ever result : fifth place. Sasahara finished sixth.

A collision at the start meant the end of the race for Jehan Daruvala (Fortec Motorsports) and Max Defourny (ART Junior Team).

With his fourth win of the season Louis Delétraz now leads with 46 points ahead of Kevin Jörg. Ukyo Sasahara follows with 5 more points behind.

Retour en haut