RACE 1- 1 August 2015, Assen
Maiden victory for Dries Vanthoor at Assen

Starting from third on the grid, the 16-year-old Belgian Dries Vanthoor (Josef Kaufmann Racing) won his first race in the Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup. Leader in the championship Louis Delétraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) lost some poins on his teammate Kevin Jörg.

From pole Jörg had a poor start and fell back to third place. Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team) then moved to the front, Vanthoor followed behind. Callan O’Keeffe (Fortec Motorsports) and Harrison Scott (AVF) overtook Louis Delétraz, who dropped to sixth place.

Vanthoor took advantage of a small mistake made by Sasahara in the last chicane and moved past the Japanese to take the lead. The first four cars were now just 1.2 seconds apart. Sasahara did not leave Vanthoor in peace, but did not get past the RACB driver.

With his first victory Dries Vanthoor took his best result so far (sixth place in the opening race at Monza). Vanthoor is now the second rookie who wins a race. His fellow rookie and countryman Max Defourny (ART Junior Team) won a race at Spa. Ukyo Sasahara and Kevin Jörg completed the podium just in front of Callan O’Keeffe (Fortec Motorsports). Louis Delétraz succeeded to overtake Harrison Scott to finish fifth and is now 40 points ahead of Jörg and 51 points ahead of Sasahara. In the second race the Swiss starts from pole.

Max Defourny lost his front wing towards the end of the race and finished 18th. Alex Gill (Fortec Motorsports) and Bruno Baptista (Inter Europol Competition) had to retire early in the race. The next opportunity to race is on Sunday at 12:20 hrs in race two.

RACE 2 - 2 August 2015, Assen
Delétraz counters with sixth win of the season

After fifth place yesterday, today Louis Delétraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) defended his pole position from start till finish. Until the end however, he had to defend himself against three tough pursuers. The toughest, Kevin Jörg (Josef Kaufmann Racing) missed the podium by finishing fourth. Saturday’s winner Dries Vanthoor finished 16th.

Louis Delétraz, Callan O’Keeffe (Fortec Motorsports), Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team) and Kevin Jörg raced in the order of their starting places. These four pushed each other during the full 25 minutes of the race. No successful attacks and no overtaking took place, so the order remained the same until the end of the race.

Behind them Harrison Scott (AVF) passed Max Defourny (ART Junior Team) right at the start. During the race Defourny lost further ground and both Dennis Olsen (Manor MP Motorsport) who finished sixth and Jehan Daruvala (Fortec Motorsports) passed him. Finishing seventh it was the Force India Junior who took the Rookie trophee. Defourny finished eighth before Darius Oskoui (Junior ART Team) and Colin Noble (MGR Motorsport).

Dries Vanthoor (Josef Kaufmann Racing), who took his first career victory yesterday, had to live with 16th place because of a jumpstart and therefor the drive-through penalty. Henrique Chaves (AVF) was tenth but had to retire with technical problems. The same went for Kevin Kleveros (Prizma Motorsport) and Alex Gill (Fortec Motorsports), whose car even went on strike on the formation lap.

Louis Delétraz leads the championship before the next weekend at the Nürburgring from 18 till 20 September, with 53 points ahead of Kevin Jörg and 150 points are still up for grabs. Max Defourny remains best rookie in fifth place overall.

Drivers Championship

Team Championship

More information about the championship

Retour en haut