Sebastian Vettel wins Indian Grand Prix

Red Bull Racing’s Sebastian Vettel won today’s Indian Grand Prix over championship rival Fernando Alonso to extend his lead in the drivers’ championship to 240 points, 13 over the Spaniard.

The German’s win – his second consecutive at the Buddh International Circuit – was also the 150th victory for a Renault engine in F1.

Red Bull Racing team-mate Mark Webber completed the podium in third position, consolidating the team’s margin at the top of the constructors’ championship. After spending the majority of the race in second, the Australian lost out to Alonso in the final third of the race after losing his KERS power, which allowed the latter to pass on the long 1.2km straight in the latter part of the race.

Lotus F1 Team’s Kimi Raikkonen enjoyed a close battle with the Ferrari of Felipe Massa and eventually passed the flag in seventh. Romain Grosjean gave the team a double points’ finish with ninth position overall.

Williams F1 Team completed the top ten with Bruno Senna after the Brazilian passed Nico Rosberg in the closing laps of the race, thus making 50% of the points’ scorers Renault-powered. Pastor Maldonado finished in 16th after suffering a puncture in an incident with Kobayashi in the first third of the race.

Caterham F1 Team again achieved a double finish with Vitaly Petrov 17th and Heikki Kovalainen 18th.

Red Bull Racing has 407 points to Ferrari’s 316 while McLaren are third with 306. Lotus F1 Team remains fourth with a comfortable margin over Mercedes. Williams F1 Team is eighth and Caterham F1 Team 11th.