Seven meetings and new horizons in 2012

World Series by Renault enters its eighth season next year, one that will see the launch of the new Formula Renault 3.5 and a total of seven meetings on the calendar. As well as visiting the six tracks on the 2011 schedule, WSR will also be pitching up in Russia at the new Moscow Raceway. With two additional races on the calendar, including the curtain-raiser for the Monaco Formula One Grand Prix, the FR 3.5 Series season will unfold at nine tracks in all.

The mid-May meeting at Motorland Aragon in Spain will mark the starting point of the 2012 World Series by Renault season, with leg two taking place at Spa-Francorchamps in Belgium. WSR then moves on to Germany’s Nürburgring at the end of June, the prelude to the all-new Russian meeting at the Moscow Raceway in the middle of July, the first time WSR has headed as far east.

Following a short midsummer interlude, the second half of the season will get under way in Hungary in September, and will continue with the French meeting at the Paul Ricard HTTT before coming to a close with the traditional grand finale at Barcelona in late October.

There are also two additional Formula Renault 3.5 Series races on the calendar: the Formula 1 curtain-raiser at Monaco and another leg in August, which has yet to be confirmed.

2012 World Series by Renault calendar *:

- 5-6 May: Motorland Aragon, Spain
- 26-27 May: Monaco (Formula Renault 3.5 Series only)
- 2-3 June: Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium
- 30 June-1 July: Nürburgring, Germany
- 14-15 July: Moscow Raceway, Russia**
- 25-26 August: TBC (Formula Renault 3.5 Series only)
- 15-16 September: Hungaroring, Hungary
- 29-30 September: Paul Ricard HTTT, France
- 20-21 October: Barcelona, Spain

*Calendar to be confirmed by the FIA
** Subject to FIA homologation