Bruno Bonifacio - Oregon Team #4
Fabian Schiller - Team Marc VDS EG 0,0 #9
Bruno Bonifacio - Oregon Team #4
Sprint AM Podium

On this Sunday, Fabian Schiller (Team Marc VDS EG 0,0 #9) and Bruno Bonifacio (Oregon Team #4) won the Renault Sport Trophy Sprint races at the Autodromo Internazionale Enzo e Dino Ferrari di Imola. With his success in front of pole winner Fredrik Blomstedt (R-ace GP #3), the German driver advanced his lead from team mate, Fran Rueda (Team Marc VDS EG 0,0 #15), who finished third today in the AM category. In the PRO division, Bruno Bonifacio and David Fumanelli assured a one-two finish at home for their Oregon Team. Third place Kevin Korjus (R-ace GP #3) takes the lead in the general classification.

Schiller continues his winning ways

After scoring the pole yesterday in the category, Fredrik Blomstedt got off to a good start before being overtaken, as was the case yesterday, by Fabian Schiller on lap two. The two swapped best lap times, but the running order stayed the same with the advantage going to the German.

Fran Rueda overtook Andres Mendez (Oregon Team #4) for third place, while Nick Leventis (Strakka Racing #42) retired. Third in qualifying before taking a six place grid penalty for an incident at Motorland Aragón, Toni Forné was on the move. The Catalan native picked up two places on the opening lap before passing Ash Hand (Oregon Team #5), Jelle Beelen (V8 Racing #7) and Andres Mendez to finish just off the podium in fourth place.

Andres Mendez took the chequers in fifth place ahead of Miguel Ramos (Equipe Verschuur #19), Jelle Beelen, Ash Hand, Carmen Jorda (V8 Racing #6) and Dennis Andersen (High Class Racing #11), who scored the final point on offer thanks to his pass on Jeroen Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur #21) on lap 11.

One-two for Oregon Team at home

Yesterday, Bruno Bonifacio claimed his first pole position in the Renault Sport Trophy in what was a very hard session where the first ten were separated by less than six tenths of a second. The Brazilian led from David Fumanelli (Oregon Team #5) and Lewis Williamson (Strakka Racing #42) when the lights went out.

The two Oregon Team drivers maintained their advantage despite the pressure of Lewis Williamson. On the penultimate lap of the race, the English driver passed David Fumanelli, who was struggling with a gearbox problem, lost his podium result because the fuel tank of his Renault Sport R.S. 01 had less than the mandatory three litres of petrol when the car went through post-race scrutineering.

Thanks to an excellent start, Pieter Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur #21) was fourth until he returned to the pits and retired. Despite losing three places at the start, Kevin Korjus (R-ace GP #3) inherited a spot on the podium after finding an opening on eventual fourth place Dario Capitanio (Oregon Team #1) and Raoul Owens (R-ace GP #2), who spun later on to finish 10th.

The V8 Racing driver trio battled for fifth place. Nicky Pastorelli (V8 Racing #7) held off Josh Webster (V8 Racing #6), who made the most of an error committed by Meindert van Buuren (V8 Racing #8) to finish ahead of the Dutchman, Tanart Sathienthirakul (Team Marc VDS EG 0,0 #15) and Anders Fjordbach (High Class Racing #11).


Fabian Schiller (AM): “Fredrik made a small mistake that allowed me to go around on the outside of turn one. I was able to control the situation, first by widening the lead and then maintaining it. I stayed focused on each lap to not make a mistake. This is how we won races. Everyone involved, the engineers and I have done a good job and it shows in the results because we won nearly everything!”

Bruno Bonifacio (PRO): “I had to be careful at the first corner and it went well. Fumanelli and Williamson had good pace and we were at 100% for the entire race! This win is a big reward for the hard work done, most especially after a difficult opening meeting. We have all worked perfectly to obtain a success hat is important to me. I drive for an Italian team, I have lived for five years and Imola is a particularly special track for all Brazilian drivers.”

Provisional Endurance General Classification*
1. K. Korjus – F. Blomstedt (R-ace GP) 43
2. M. Palttala – F. Schiller (Team Marc VDS EG 0,0) 40
3. R. Owens – T. Forné (R-ace GP) 24
4. L. Williamson (Strakka Racing) 21
5. B. Bonifacio – A. Mendez (Oregon Team) 18

Provisional General Classification PRO*
1. Kevin Korjus (R-ace GP) 50
2. Lewis Williamson (Strakka Racing) 43
3. Nicky Pastorelli (V8 Racing) 32
4. David Fumanelli (Oregon Team) 30
5. Markus Palttala (Team Marc VDS EG 0,0) 27

Provisional General Classification AM*
1. Fabian Schiller (Team Marc VDS EG 0,0) 75
2. Fran Rueda (Team Marc VDS EG 0,0) 43
3. Fredrik Blomstedt (R-ace GP) 36
4. Andres Mendez (Oregon Team) 31
5. Miguel Ramos (Equipe Verschuur) 31

*Results subject to confirmation following technical and sporting verifications

Compensation weights - pdf

Qualifying AM - pdf

Qualifying PRO - pdf

Sprint AM - Grid - pdf

Sprint AM - Results - pdf

Sprint PRO - Grid - pdf

Sprint PRO - Results - pdf

Audio Fabian Schiller - mp3

Audio Bruno Bonifacio - mp3

PRO overall standings - pdf

AM overall standings - pdf

Endurance overall standings - pdf

Teams overall standings - pdf