Tech 1 Racing claim the front row at Le Mans

Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 championship challenger Anthoine Hubert (Tech 1 Racing) secured his second pole of the season in Sunday morning’s qualifying session at the Circuit Bugatti Le Mans. The Frenchman posted a new class track record of 1:32.657 to head the field, with team-mate Simon Gachet (Tech 1 Racing) sharing the front row with him. Ignazio D’Agosto (Manor MP Motorsport) heads the second row, followed by Swiss duo Kevin Jörg (Josef Kaufmann Racing) and Louis Delétraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing), respectively second and first in the championship standings. Harrison Scott (AVF), the season’s leading rookie, will start eighth.

Group B

Chris Anthony (Manor MP Motorsport), Simon Gachet (Tech 1 Racing) and Dennis Olsen (Manor MP Motorsport) were the first to venture out on the track and shared the lead before Kevin Jörg and Ben Barnicoat (Fortec Motorsports) took charge. Undeterred, Simon Gachet hit back with a lap of 1:32.729 to end the session ahead of the Swiss and Dennis Olsen, with rookie Harrison Scott (AVF) and Ben Barnicoat rounding off the leading quintet.

Group A

Just when it looked as if Simon Gachet’s benchmark would go unbeaten, stable-mate Anthoine Hubert snatched pole from him with a time of 1:32.657 on his final attempt. Finishing behind the Frenchman were Ignazio D’Agosto and Louis Delétraz, with Jack Aitken (Koiranen GP) and Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team) coming in fourth and fifth respectively.

The second Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 race of the Le Mans weekend starts at 15:00.