The Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 field heads to the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps for the penultimate round of the 2016 season. The title could be decided on the legendary Belgian track, during the weekend where the Renault Sport Racing school of champions will share the billing with the Renault Sport Trophy, the European Le Mans Series and the Renault Sport Formula One Team show starring Nicolas Latifi.

An authentic motor racing legend, the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps continues to be a must stop for any quality championship. For the sixth meeting of the year, the longest track on the calendar is also one of the most challenging where the battle for the title could be concluded. Suffice to say that the show promises to be spectacular on a track where the cars’ drafting aptitudes are extremely efficient.

The title for Lando Norris?

Current leader in the Formula Renault 2.0 NEC and assured of finishing rookie of the year in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0, Lando Norris (Josef Kaufmann Racing) can clinch the title on Sunday in Belgium.

Five times a race winner since the start of the season, the British driver will take the crown if he wins the weekend’s two races. A feat he has already achieved…at Spa in the Formula Renault 2.0 NEC and the BRDC British F3 last July!

Three men to counter

Local driver Max Defourny (R-ace GP) wants to reverse the trend here where he took his maiden open-wheel victory last year and claim his first win since April in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0.

For Harrison Scott (AVF by Adrián Vallés) and Dorian Boccolacci (Tech 1 Racing), the situation will be even simpler: they have to absolutely take points from the leader to keep their title hopes alive. Their performance will also be crucial for their teams to catch up to Josef Kaufmann Racing in the team general classification.

The avenging outsiders

The fight for fifth place is still going strong. While Sacha Fenestraz (Tech 1 Racing) got back on track at Circuit Paul Ricard, the Frenchman will be looking to return to the podium, as he did in NEC this summer. Another top three result will also be in the sights of Jehan Daruvala (Josef Kaufmann Racing), Ferdinand Habsburg (Fortec Motorsports) and Will Palmer (R-ace GP) in the incredibly dense field.

For their part, Robert Shwartzman (Josef Kaufmann Racing), Gabriel Aubry (Tech 1 Racing), Hugo de Sadeleer (Tech 1 Racing), Henrique Chaves (AVF by Adrián Vallés), Bruno Baptista (Fortec Motorsports), Alexey Korneev (JD Motorsport) and Julien Falchero (R-ace GP) will also aim for a strong run to restart their seasons.

After his first podium in the Formula Renault 2.0 NEC at Spa in July, James Allen (JD Motorsport) will try for a repeat performance. Finally, Alex Perullo (Technorace) will give it his all to score his first points in a field completed by wildcards Nikita Triotskiy (Fortec Motorsports), Finlay Hutchison (Fortec Motorsports) and Belgium’s Ghislain Cordeel (GMMA Formula Racing).

Programme and TV

Several times per day, Canadian Nicolas Latifi will light up the track with F1 demonstration runs in the E20 powered by the Renault V8 that won five world titles. The Renault Sport Formula One Team reserve driver and former competitor in the World Series by Renault will return to Spa-Francorchamps a month after competing in the GP2 Series.

Spectators will also be able to enjoy the activities in the Village, including the Freestyl’air Show, the display of the Renault range with the Clio R.S.16 and road safety activities, makeup booths and inflatable structures for the kids.

The weekend’s two races will be streamed on the Renault Sport Youtube channel. The first round will be aired on a delayed basis before live coverage of the Sunday race on Eurosport International, Eurosport UK and Eurosport France.

Friday 23 September 2016
10h50 – 11h40 Collective test 1
14h15 – 15h05 Collective test 2

Saturday 24 September 2016
11h10 – 11h40 Qualifying 1
14h56 – 15h23 Race 1

Sunday 25 September 2016
9h00 – 9h30 Qualifying 2
11h16 – 11h43 Race 2

Entry list - pdf

Schedule - pdf