The Renault Sport Trophy will conclude its second season at Circuito Estoril. While Fabian Schiller has already won the AM category championship, the PRO, Endurance and Team titles will be on the line at a meeting where the Renault Sport R.S. 01 will share the billing wth the European Le Mans Series and the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0.

The Autódromo Fernanda Pires da Silva d’Estoril and its technical sections will serve as the final venue as the competitors in the Renault Sport Trophy conclude their season. The teams and drivers will take on the challenges of the Portuguese track next weekend in the finale.

Four contenders of the PRO title

With 50 points up for grabs and the dropping of the worst result at the end of the season, there will be four contenders for the PRO title and a selection test with the factory NISMO team in Super GT.

Pieter Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur) has run the table since the Red Bull Ring and could clinch the championship as early as Saturday. The Dutch driver will nevertheless will have to keep an eye on his rivals like Kevin Korjus (R-ace GP), who set the best time during the winter test, but also Markus Palttala (Team Marc VDS EG 0,0) and David Fumanelli (Oregon Team).

There are many outsiders who want to end their seasons in style. Tanart Sathienthirakul (Team Marc VDS EG 0,0) will aim to end the year in the overall top five, as will Raoul Owens (R-ace GP), Nicky Pastorelli (V8 Racing) and last year’s Endurance and AM champion, Dario Capitanio (Oregon Team).

Lonni Martins (Duqueine Engineering) and Anders Fjordbach (High Class Racing) will also try to move up a few spots in running strong in Portugal, where Steijn Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur) will continue his return. Josh Webster (V8 Racing) will also return and Portugal’s Pedro Moleiro (Oregon Team) will make his debut.

The AMs will put on a show

After clinching the title at Spa-Francorchamps, Fabian Schiller (Team Marc VDS EG 0,0) wants to end his triumphant season in style. Despite 80kg of ballast, the German driver will be in the same position as team mate Fran Rueda (Team Marc VDS EG 0,0) and Fredrik Blomstedt (R-ace GP), who will battle for the runner-up spot will also thinking about the team title opposing Marc VDS versus Equipe Verschuur.

Facing this trio running with maximum ballast will be local hero Miguel Ramos (Equipe Verschuur), Jelle Beelen (V8 Racing) and Christophe Hamon (Duqueine Engineering), who will have an extra 50, 50 and 5 kg respectively, will try to make the most of the situation. It will be up to Andrés Méndez (Oregon Team), Jeroen Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur), Dennis Andersen (High Class Racing) and Davide Roda (Oregon Team) to capitalize on this advantage.

Following their return in Belgium, Philippe Haezebrouck (R-ace GP) and Adalberto Baptista (Oregon Team) will once again be present in Portugal.

Wide open in Endurance

Estoril will also be the deciding round in the Endurance category. Fredrik Blomstedt (R-ace GP) has a 13-point lead from the duo of Markus Palttala – Fabian Schiller (Team Marc VDS EG 0,0), is 15 ahead of Kevin Korjus (R-ace GP) and 23 to the good from Jeroen Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur). The Swedish driver, partnered with Raoul Owens, can clinch the title in finishing third, but his rivals haven’t thrown in the towel just yet !

While Philippe Haezebrouck (R-ace GP) will try to help Kevin Korjus in his quest, the others have nothing to lose. With Steijn Schothorst and Miguel Ramos (Equipe Verschuur) aiming for the first victory, Tanart Sathienthirakul Fran Rueda (Team Marc VDS EG 0,0) long for a second triumph.

Separated in Belgium, Lonni Martins and Christophe Hamon (Duqueine Engineering) will reunite to battle against David Fumanelli – Andres Mendez (Oregon Team), Nicky Pastorelli – Jelle Beelen (V8 Racing) et Anders Fjordbach – Dennis Andersen (High Class Racing) and Dario Capitanio – Davide Roda (Oregon Team) and Pedro Moleiro – Adalberto Baptista (Oregon Team).

Jean-Pascal Dauce, Renault Sport Racing Director of Customer Competition Programmes: “The Renault Sport Trophy is already about to end its second season at Estoril! The on-track battles promise to be exciting and we are thrilled to find out who will join Fabian Schiller in the category’s 2016 record book!”

Programme and TV

Spectators will also be entertained by the on track action offered by Renault Classic, as well as the activities in the Village with the display of the Renault range and the Renault F1 historic cars, a pit-stop challenge and bicycle demonstrations for young and old.

The weekend’s two races will be streamed live on the Renault Sport Youtube channel.

Friday 21 October 2016
8h20 – 9h15 Collective test 1
12h35 – 13h30 Collective test 2
16h35 – 17h30 Collective test 3

Saturday 22 October 2016
9h45 – 10h05 Qualifying PRO
12h10 – 12h30 Qualifying AM
14h57 – 16h09 Endurance Race

Sunday 23 October 2016
8h52 – 9h19 Sprint Race AM
11h42 – 12h09 Sprint Race PRO

Timetable - pdf