Ukyo Sasahara keeps up his momentum

Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team), who won race 1, kept up his momentum to earn his first pole position in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 at Spa-Francorchamps. The Japanese driver clocked in his best lap at 2:17.117 and will lead the pack ahead of yesterday’s pole Jake Hughes (Koiranen GP), Ben Barnicoat (Fortec Motorsports), Callan O’Keeffe (Fortec Motorsports) and Anthoine Hubert (Tech 1 Racing) on the starting grid.

Group B – Matevos Isaakyan (JD Motorsport) and Jack Aitken (Koiranen GP) traded places several times at the lead, but the two men saw Jake Hughes and later Kevin Jörg (Josef Kaufmann Racing) take over the front of the pack. The Englishman posted a 2:17.324 lap, which was enough to overtake Callan O’Keeffe and Kevin Jörg. Matevos Isaakyan and Jack Aitken rounded out the top five.

Group A – Times got faster as the laps went on, and with just five minutes to go, Ukyo Sasahara was the first to beat Jake Hughes’ time. The Japanese driver put in a 2:17.117 lap to lead the group, over Ben Barnicoat, Anthoine Hubert, Max Defourny (ART Junior Team) and the overall standings leader Louis Delétraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing).

The second Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 race will start at 12.25pm.

Ukyo Sasahara: “My goal is to at least pull off a one-two! We saw today that our pace is great to be on pole – even I was surprised. The start is difficult here with the staggered grid and the long straight line, but we’ll do our best to stay out in front.

Qualifying 2B

Qualifying 2A