An all-French final!

The final match of our tournament to decide who is the greatest Formula Renault graduate ever will feature two French motor racing legends.

For the fourth consecutive week, thousands of voters cast their ballots on to chose the finalists of our competition to commemorate season 50 of Formula Renault.

After pulling off a string of upsets in eliminating Renault DP World F1 Team driver Daniel Ricciardo with 54.7 % of the votes, then six-time World Champion Lewis Hamilton with 59.2%, Didier Pironi faced Robert Kubica in the first semi-final.

For the first time since the start of the tournament, Didier Pironi won over the majority of our experts to a lead that Robert Kubica’s huge popularity couldn’t overcome in the public voting. The Frenchman moves on with 66.1% of the votes and the win over the Pole who had earlier defeated Finland’s Kimi Räikkönen and Valtteri Bottas.

At the same time, Alain Prost bested Sebastian Vettel in an epic confrontation between two four-time world champions.

After cruising to victory in the prior rounds with 96.2% versus Olivier Panis, then 92.2% of the ballots in his match against René Arnoux, “The Professor” faced stiffer competition from Sebastian Vettel. The Renault Sport Racing special advisor overcame the German with a narrow margin amongst the jury before he extended it to 55.2% after the fan vote.

The final will pit two of motorsport’s biggest stars who proved themselves in Formula Renault in the 1970s before going on to become major contributors to France’s F1 glory days.

Who will prevail?

Will it be Didier Pironi, who won the 1974 French Formula Renault Championship, the 1976 Formula Renault Europe Challenge and the 1978 24 Hours of Le Mans in an Alpine-Renault A442B? Or Alain Prost, who won the 1976 French Formula Renault Championship, the 1977 Formula Renault Europe Challenge and became the first driver who cut his teeth in Formula Renault to go on to become an F1 World Champion?

The final will start on Monday, June 8 at 14H00 CET and conclude 48 hours later. The Greatest Formula Renault Graduate ever will be announced on the evening of Wednesday June 10.