7 race winners and 11 different drivers on the podium in 12 races: this sums up the first part of the Formula Renault Eurocup season. Here now is a look back at an intense battle to see who will join Brendon Hartley, Valtteri Bottas, Stoffel Vandoorne and Pierre Gasly on the honour roll of champions.

Since 1971, the Formula Renault Eurocup has been one of the most competitive categories in the wold.

The first meetings of the season didn’t create a traditional hierarchy with Logan Sargeant (R-ace GP), Max Fewtrell (R-ace GP), Yifei Ye (Josef Kaufmann Racing) and Christian Lundgaard (MP Motorsport) all taking turns at the head of the general classification after their respective wins at Circuit Paul Ricard and Monza.

At Silverstone, Max Fewtrell became the first repeat winner, but the Englishman retired the following day. His team mate, Charles Milesi (R-ace GP) took advantage to claim his maiden success before sharing the glory with Alex Peroni (MP Motorsport) in the curtain raiser to the most atypical round of the year, the Monaco FI Grand Prix.

While Max Fewtrell bagged a ton of points at the Red Bull Ring, the month of July saw Victor Martins (R-ace GP) come on strong with wins in Austria and at Spa-Francorchamps. The French driver caught right up to Yifei Ye and Christian Lundgaard, who took over the top spot briefly before Yifei Ye answered. Always consistent, the category’s first Chinese race winner currently has a ten point lead from the Danish member of the Renault Sport Academy!

Following the summer holiday, the contenders will return to the battle at the Hungaroring, Nürburging and Hockenheim in the span of four weeks. The Formula Renault Eurocup season will conclude in Barcelona in a highly-anticipated season finale!