The Final : Pironi - Prost. Vote!

Our Greatest Formula Renault Graduate tournament comes to an end with the final head-to-head, chosen by you!

The final match of our tournament to decide who is the greatest Formula Renault graduate ever will feature two of motorsport’s biggest stars who proved themselves in the 1970s before going on to become major contributors to France’s F1 glory days.

Who will prevail?

Voting is open for 48 hours just until Wednesday June 10th, 14:00 CET. The results will be announced shortly afterwards.

Didier Pironi
French Formula Renault Champion in 1974, then winner of the Formula Renault Europe Challenge in 1976, Didier Pironi also won in the streets of Monaco in 1975 and in 1976, then in F3 the following year. A year later, the French driver won the 24 Hours of Le Mans with Renault while also making his F1 debut, where he was also successful. Didier Pironi’s career came to an abrupt end after an accident during practice for the 1982 German Grand Prix while he was leading the general classification.

Road to Final:
Round of 16: 54.7%-win over Daniel Ricciardo
Quarter-Finals: 59.2%-win over Lewis Hamilton
Semi-Finals: 66.1%-win over Robert Kubica

Alain Prost
The first Formula Renault driver to become F1 World Champion, Alain Prost demonstrated the full extent of his talent right from his first season in single-seater racing. “The Professor” won 12 of the 13 races to win the French Formula Renault Championship before confirming his success by winning the Formula Renault Europe Challenge in 1977. Three years later, he got his start in F1 where he scored his maiden win with Renault, his first three titles with McLaren and his last with Williams-Renault in 1993.

Road to Final:
Round of 16: 96.2%-win over Olivier Panis
Quarter-Finals: 92.2%-win over René Arnoux
Semi-Finals: 55.2%-win over Sebastian Vettel