Formula Renault Eurocup grid to expand in 2020

The Formula Renault Eurocup and Renault Sport Racing Organising Committee announced this Friday 8 November the list of the nine pre-selected teams for the 50th season in the Formula Renault history.

Following an exceptional campaign marked by the Formula Renault FR-19 debut and a stellar season-finale under the Yas Marina Circuit lights in Abu Dhabi, Renault Sport Racing is pleased to announce that all eight teams entered in 2019 will be joined by a ninth formation on the 2020 starting grids.

R-ace GP will try to defend its three titles against a stiffer than ever competition, which will include its toughest rivals MP Motorsport, Arden Motorsport and JD Motorsport.

Following their debut in the category this year, M2 Competition, Bhaitech Racing, Global Racing Service and FA Racing all hope to use their experience gained to upset the hierarchy.

The field will be strengthen with the arrival of one of single-seater racing’s standard-bearers ART Grand Prix. Eighteen years after taking Alexandre Prémat to the French Formula Renault title under the ASM banner, the French team returns to one of the series’ where it cut its teeth in motor racing after having starred in all of the junior categories. Involved from karting to F2, ART Grand Prix is also making a clear choice to guide the most promising young guns towards the pinnacle of motorsport.

Created in 1971, Formula Renault is preparing to celebrate next year its 50th season next year in bringing together all the talents of tomorrow in nine of the most renowned teams at 10 circuits homologated for F1, including Monaco as the F1 Grand Prix curtain-raiser.

Each race weekend will feature two qualifying sessions and two 30-minute, plus one lap, races in support of professional international championships. Like this year, the future champion will score 18 points towards the Super Licence as well as receive an offer to join the Renault Sport Academy, financial support and privileged access to the Enstone and Viry-Châtillon facilities as part of his development.

The rookies will continue to receive special attention with the highest-placed newcomer in each race awarded a set of Hankook tyres for the 2021 season and the 2021 entry fees will be offered to the highest-placed rookie at the end of the year. In addition, unique opportunities at this level of the pyramid will be presented with two days of simulator testing at Enstone, access to the Enstone Human Performance Center and a weekend with Renault F1 Team at a Formula 1 Grand Prix.

List of pre-selected teams for 2020
Arden Motorsport (GBR)
ART Grand Prix (FRA)
Bhaitech Racing (ITA)
Global Racing Service (ESP)
JD Motorsport (ITA)
FA Racing (ESP)
MP Motorsport (NED)
M2 Competition (BEL)
R-ace GP (FRA)

Provisional calendar
Pre-season collective tests
11-12 March²: Circuit Ricardo Tormo (Spain)
14-15 March²: Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya (Spain)
31 March-1 April: Circuit Paul Ricard (France)
2020 season*
17-19 April: Autodromo di Monza (Italy)¹
8-10 May: Silverstone (United Kingdom) ¹
21-24 May: Monaco
29-31 May: Circuit Paul Ricard (France)
26-28 June: Zandvoort (The Netherlands)¹
23-25 July: Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps (Belgium)¹
4-6 September: Nürburgring (Germany)¹
25-27 September: Hungaroring (Hungary)¹
9-11 October: Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya (Spain)
13-14 November²: Yas Marina Circuit (Abu Dhabi)
¹Test day prior to the meeting
²To be confirmed
*subject to FIA approval