However it was the 1997 season that was to put the Renault Laguna into the record books. Jason Plato joined Alain Menu to make up a team that won 14 of the 24 races in the year. Menu won 12, with the novice Plato winning the first three poles and then the last race of the season, a taste of what was to come from the future champion. Williams Renault won both the BTCC Constructor and Team titles in only their fourth year of competition.