Race winner at the start of the season, Logan Sargeant (R-ace GP) drove to victory in race one of the Formula Renault Eurocup at the Nürburgring. The American was joined on the podium by Renault Sport Academy drivers Max Fewtrell (R-ace GP) and Christian Lundgaard (MP Motorsport). The Dane maintains his lead in the general classification, while the number of drivers still in contention for the title is now seven.

Logan Sargeant takes pole

It was an early start for the Formula Renault Eurocup with qualifying at 8:45. In Group A, the battle for the top spot was between Christian Lundgaard and Max Fewtrell. The Briton got the nod with a lap of 1:56.141s, but his time was bested by Logan Sargeant in 1:55.870s in Group B.

Group A - Group B

Logan Sargeant and Max Fewtrell shared row one of the grid ahead of Yifei Ye (Josef Kaufmann Racing), Christian Lundgaard, Victor Martins (R-ace GP) and Charles Milesi (R-ace GP). Alexander Smolyar (Tech 1 Racing), Oscar Piastri (Arden Motorsport), Thomas Neubauer (Tech 1 Racing) and Lorenzo Colombo (JD Motorsport) completed the top ten.

Starting grid

Second success for the American

When the lights went out, pole winner Logan Sargeant held on to the lead. Yifei Ye tried to take second place from Max Fewtrell, but Christian Lundgaard made the most of their duel to make his way to P2. Yifei Ye slotted in behind Max Fewtrell, Victor Martins and Alexander Smolyar at the end of a busy opening lap that brought an end to the hopes of Frank Bird (Tech 1 Racing).

Alone in the lead after the early race battles, Logan Sargeant saw those behind close the gap, but Max Fewtrell attacked Christian Lundgaard. After an initial unsuccessful attempt, the Englishman found on an opening on the outside of turn one on lap eight before setting off to reel in his team mate.

Despite all of Max Fewtrell’s efforts, Logan Sargent held his ground to take his second triumph of the season. Max Fewtrell finished ahead of two other Renault Sport Academy drivers, Christian Lundgaard and Victor Martins, while Alexander Smolyar finished fifth ahead of Yifei Ye and Charles Milesi. Initially eighth, Thomas Neubauer was penalised after the race for his role in the lap one incident with Oscar Piastri. Thomas Maxwell (JD Motorsport), Alex Peroni (MP Motorsport) and Arthur Rougier (Fortec Motorsports) rounded out the top ten.

Race 1 - Drivers classification - Teams classification


Logan Sargeant (R-ace GP): “It is great to finally be back on the top step of the podium and I want to thank R-ace GP for their work. Our pace was rather solid at Spa and the Hungaroring, but I needed to put everything together. I managed to do that in what was a straightforward race. I saw the chaos behind me and was glad to have avoided it! This resulted in a healthy lead just until Max moved up to second place. He was very fast, but I wasn’t too worried because he needed me to make a mistake to give him a chance.”

Max Fewtrell (R-ace GP): “The start was a bit hectic. Yifei took advantage before I was able to repass, but Christian was able to move up to second place at the time. I spent the first half of the race behind him. We had a nice battle. My first attempt didn’t work because he braked late enough to hold me off, but the second try worked. I then caught up to Logan, but it is hard to follow someone close in sector two. I tried to fight for the win, but it is still a good result. I need to continue to score a lot of points to catch up to the leader in the general classification.”

Christian Lundgaard (MP Motorsport): “I really wanted to avoid any trouble at the start. I didn’t brake too late and when I saw the opportunity, I seized it to pass Max at turn two then Yifei after that. He is now my main rival for the title and I know that every point is important now that we are leading the general classification. Although Max is a little further back than Yifei, we have to limit the number of points that they can take from us, but Max was too fast. We are still missing a few tenths, but we a pretty good idea where we need to work on before tomorrow.”

Provisional general classification*
Drivers Points
1. Christian Lundgaard (MP Motorsport) 205
2. Yifei Ye (Josef Kaufmann Racing) 190
3. Max Fewtrell (R-ace GP) 176,5
4. Victor Martins (R-ace GP) 153
5. Logan Sargeant (R-ace GP) 141
... ...

*Results subject to confirmation following technical and sporting verifications.