Logan Sargeant (R-ace GP) finished the season the way he started it, with a win. The American took the chequers ahead of three Renault Sport Academy drivers; rookie champion, Christian Lundgaard (MP Motorsport), Victor Martins (R-ace GP) and Max Fewtrell (R-ace GP). Fourth today, Max Fewtrell succeeds Sacha Fenestraz in the Formula Renault Eurocup record book!

Record for Victor Martins

Under clear skies, Victor Martins led the way in qualifying. While Logan Sargeant dominated the first group with a time of 1:42.094s, the French driver went even quicker with a lap of 1:41.864s against title contenders Max Fewtrell and Christian Lundgaard.

Group B - Group A

After setting a new track record for the category in Barcelona, Victor Martins lined up on pole ahead of Logan Sargeant, Max Fewtrell and Lorenzo Colombo (JD Motorsport) shared row two, while Christian Lundgaard. Thomas Maxwell (JD Motorsport) slotted in on row three. Eliseo Martinez (AVF by Adrian Valles), Neil Verhagen (Tech 1 Racing), Charles Milesi (R-ace GP) and Yifei Ye (Josef Kaufmann Racing) completed the top ten on the grid.

Starting grid

Sargeant in control

When the lights went out, Logan Sargeant got the best get away to lead from Victor Martins and Max Fewtrell. Behind the leading trio, Christian Lundgaard moved up to fourth ahead of Thomas Maxwell and Lorenzo Colombo.

Having to win to keep his title hopes alive, Christian Lundgaard quickly went on the attack. The Dane made quick work of Max Fewtrell, who didn’t pose any resistance, before going after Victor Martins. Further back, Yifei Ye first got around Charles Milesi then Eliseo Martinez.

On lap 15, Christian Lundgaard made his way past Victor Martins then set his sights on Logan Sargeant in the final five minutes. The American dashed his hopes by immediately clocking the fastest lap in the race.

Logan Sargeant went on for the win with a three-second margin of victory ahead of Christian Lundgaard and Victor Martins. Fourth place was good enough for Max Fewtrell to clinch the title. Thomas Maxwell, Lorenzo Colombo, Neil Verhagen, Yifei Ye, Eliseo Martinez and Charles Milesi completed the top ten in the final race for this generation of Formula Renault.

Race 2 - Drivers classification - Teams classification

The Formula Renault Eurocup is now about to open a new chapter in its history with the introduction of a new Formula Renault. The first collective tests will begin on March 5, 2019 at the Circuit de Nevers Magny-Cours.


Logan Sargeant (R-ace GP): “It’s always positive to finish with a victory. We began and concluded the season on the top step of the podium, but it’s not the case in the general classification! Today, we showed what we are capable of doing with the best time in my qualifying group, a perfect start and a race led from start to finish. As I had nothing to lose, I was extremely relaxed as I maintained my lead and pace, which granted me the win.”

Christian Lundgaard (MP Motorsport): “This morning, we had the needed pace in the third sector to compete for the pole. In the race, all I could do was my best and everything else depended on Max. Unfortunately, it wasn’t enough, I am proud of my season, the incredible work put in by my team and the improvement I have made during the year. This second place is a fine success for all of us!”

Victor Martins (R-ace GP): “I tried to stay behind Logan after my poor start, but I was struggling with the car balance. I made too many mistakes and Christian was able to make the most of them to get by me. I am a little disappointed to finish the season this way. I am sure that I had the rhythm to race for the victory and I want to finish with a better result than third place.”

Max Fewtrell (R-ace GP): “I am at a loss for words… what a season! We started the season really strong before dropping to fifth place in the general classification after Monaco. We had to stay calm; we didn’t panic and continued to work flat out to crawl back. I think that we showed everyone what we are capable of and I would like to thank Christian, who is a stout adversary who pushed me to my limits all the way to the end of the season.”

Provisional general classification*
Drivers Points
1. Max Fewtrell (R-ace GP) 275.5
2. Christian Lundgaard (MP Motorsport) 258
3. Yifei Ye (Josef Kaufmann Racing) 239
4. Logan Sargeant (R-ace GP) 218
5. Victor Martins (R-ace GP) 186
... ...

*Results subject to confirmation following technical and sporting verifications.