The 2019 Formula Renault Eurocup calendar announced

Known for its exceptional calendar, the Formula Renault Eurocup will live up to its reputation for the 2019 season, which will be marked by the arrival of a safer, more powerful and more aerodynamically efficient car. The latest generation of single-seater talent will be able to prepare their future careers on tracks used by F1.

For its 49th season, the first one for the Tatuus T-318 chassis, the Formula Renault Eurocup will begin its new campaign with three days of testing at Circuit Nevers Magny-Cours in early March. Once this full-scale shakedown is completed, the drivers will have another four days of testing at two circuits where they will race later in the year.

To confirm its status as the benchmark in the development of young drivers, the Formula Renault Eurocup will continue to compete on Europe’s finest circuits homologated for F1. Five among them will also host a test day prior to the meeting to offer significant track time while helping to control costs. Staying with this goal, personnel restrictions for each team will also be implemented.

Sharing the weekend bill with professional international championships, each weekend will consist of two collective tests and two qualifying sessions to determine the starting grid for the two races, guaranteeing sporting fairness and the development of the stars of tomorrow. The championship winning driver will join the Renault Sport Academy in order to step up while particular attention will be paid to the best rookies.

Meanwhile, the announcement of the new Formula Renault continues to heighten its impact as some teams like M2 Competition has officialized its intention to join the field. Each team will be able to enter three cars. The list of the pre-selected teams will be announced by the Formula Renault Eurocup Organzing Committee on November 5.

2019 Formula Renault Eurocup Calendar*
Pre-season collective tests
March 5-7 Circuit Nevers Magny-Cours, France
March 27-28 Circuit Paul Ricard, France
April 9-10 Autodromo di Monza, Italy²
April 12-14 Autodromo di Monza, Italy
May 10-12 Silverstone, Great Britain¹
May 23-26 Monaco²
May 31-June 2 Circuit Paul Ricard, France
July 12-14 Red Bull Ring, Austria²
July 26-28 Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium¹
August 30-September 1 Nürburgring, Germany¹
September 6-8 Hungaroring, Hungary¹
September 27-29 Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Spain¹
October TBA

¹ Test day prior to meeting
² To be confirmed
*calendar subject to the approval of the FIA