After a two-month summer break, the Clio R3T Trophy France returns to action on the Rallye Mont-Blanc Morzine (September 6-8). The fourth round of the year promises to be an intense battle between Florian Bernardi and Boris Carminati because the leader in the general classification will have a chance to take a first step towards the title in the heart of the Alps…

Winner of the Touquet and at Charbonnières, Florian Bernardi saw Boris Carminati end his winning streak at Rouergue. While he has a 34 point lead at the mid-way point, there is still plenty of action to come in the second half of the season!

For this return to action, last year’s Junior category champion heads to a rally that he has enjoyed past success on with two victories in the Twingo R1 Trophy and a triumph over Cédric Robert in the Clio R3T Trophy France. This year, Florian Bernardi is aiming to succeed once again… which could see him clinch the title this weekend!

Against him, Boris Carminati hasn’t competed on the Mont-Blanc since 2008. Although he has quickly acclimated himself to the subtleties of the Clio R3T, his mission will be two-fold because he will need to find his marks on the route, while also finishing at least eighth to keep his title hopes alive.

His task will not be made any easier with the battle among the leaders in the Junior category. While Thibaut Poizot and Mathieu Walter are tied for the lead in the category, the dropping of the worst result, for the moment, favours Thibault Poizot.

Both will try to get the psychological and points advantage, but they will both have to be wary of Guillaume Jean – who has one Mont Blanc appearance to his credit – and José Javier Perez, who will make his debut on this round.

Consistently in the points, Damien Tozlanian will try to build upon his four previous starts in the Savoy to do better than his fourth place last year and try to pick up a few points in the general classification prior to the last two rounds.

Respectively present in the Touquet and ‘’Charbo’’, Alex Sabater and Yann Mogno will be back at Morzine. While the Spaniard is about to discover the event, the Frenchman will take part in his sixth Rallye du Mont-Blanc and hopes to create a surprise. He took the N2 laurels in 2012.

In the Gentleman category, two standouts from past editions of the Clio R3T Trophy France will return to the service park in the Alps : 2015 winner of the Clio R3T European Trophy International, Éric Filippi and Pascal Aimé, who finished sixth in his maiden Mont-Blanc in 2017.

Already a participant in the Clio Cup in 2005, Yves Gire will make his first appearance in the Clio R3T Trophy France. In addition to the eleven crews he will face, he will also compete against the five pairs entered in the Trophy Clio R3T Alps, but also Manu Guigou and Cédric Robert.

The Rallye Mont-Blanc Morzine will take place over two days. On Friday September 7 there will be eight special stages leading the competitors towards the famous roads of the Joux Verte mountain pass before the six remaining special stages to following day that will cross the Praz de Lys and Samoëns-Morzine. The itinerary will total 199.66 timed kilometres on a route totalling 489.60km.

Rallye Mont-Blanc Morzine

Entry list – Clio R3T Trophy France
#59 Florian BERNARDI – Victor BELLOTTO

#60 Boris CARMINATI – Marine LACRUZ

#61 Thibaut POIZOT – Marion GRAND (Junior)

#62 Mathieu WALTER – Thibault RAINCOURT (Junior)

#63 Damien TOZLANIAN – Romain BRUN

#64 Guillaume JEAN – Loris PASCAUD (Junior)

#65 José Javier PEREZ – Alberto ESPINO (Junior)

#66 Alex SABATER – Xavi LOZANO

#67 Yann MOGNO – Sylvain MOGNO

#68 Éric FILIPPI – Francis MAZOTTI (Gentleman)

#69 Pascal AIME – Stéphanie AIME (Gentleman) 

#70 Yves GIRE – Jacques MOIOLI

General classification
1. Florian Bernardi, 83 points
2. Boris Carminati, 49 points
3. Thibaut Poizot, 35 points
4. Mathieu Walter, 35 points
5. Damien Tozlanian, 28 points
6. Olivier Delaporte, 21 points
7. Guillaume Jean, 20 points
8. David Nafría, 12 points
9. José Javier Perez, 12 points
10. William Pitot, 10 points
11. Florent Joly, 6 points
12. Jérôme Aymard, 6 points
13. Pierre Lerosier, 6 points
14. Dominique Patenotte, 2 points
15. Alex Sabater, 1 point
16. Yoann Lambert, 1 point
NC. Riquelmo Gomis
NC. Sara Williams
NC. Julien Brégeon
NC. Yann Mogno
NC. Riccardo Canzian