The Formula Renault Eurocup completes its 2019 calendar

To strengthen its benchmark status in the young drivers development, the Formula Renault Eurocup will once again offer a calendar exclusively featuring F1 venues. Now confirmed, the Monaco round will be the highlight of the season while Abu Dhabi will host the 2019 season finale at the superb Yas Marina circuit.

The result of a longstanding relationship between the Automobile Club de Monaco and Renault Sport Racing, the most promising hopefuls of their generation entered in the Formula Renault Eurocup will battle in the curtain-raiser to the most prestigious F1 Grand Prix for the fourth consecutive year.

In addition to this confirmation, Hockenheim will close the European campaign in early October, three weeks prior to the season finale at the Yas Marina circuit, the venue for the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix and a new addition to the category’s calendar. Always paying attention to costs control, Renault Sport Racing and its partners will allow competitors to compete in this final showdown in the same conditions as traditional rounds.

The other dates remain the same with seven days of pre-season testing and a 10-round calendar at some of the finest tracks used by F1 and its support categories. Each weekend will be contested alongside international and professional championships with two collective test sessions, two qualifying sessions and two 30-minute plus one lap races, except for Monaco.

Since the announcement of the new generation Formula Renault, which is safer, more powerful and more aerodynamically efficient, the category has received huge interest from the teams. Ten of them have been preselected and new squads are lining up to try to secure their place on the grid.

2019 Formula Renault Eurocup calendar*
Pre-season collective tests
March 5-7 Circuit Nevers Magny-Cours, France
March 15-16 Circuit Paul Ricard, France
April 2-3 Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Spain
2019 season
April 12-14 Autodromo di Monza, Italia¹
May 10-12 Silverstone, United Kingdom¹
May 23-26 Monaco
May 31-June 2 Circuit Paul Ricard, France
July 26-28 Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium¹
August 30-September 1 Nürburgring, Germany¹
September 6-8 Hungaroring, Hungary¹
September 27-29 Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Spain
October 4-6 Hockenheimring, Germany
October 24-26 Yas Marina, Abu Dhabi

¹ Pre-event collective Test
*pending approval from the FIA