The quarter-finals are set!

Eight former Formula Renault drivers, with a total of 14 world titles, will face off in four epic quarter-final rounds in our search for the Greatest Formula Renault Graduate in the history.

Several thousands of fans headed to these past two weeks to vote and select the Great Eight that will continue the adventure in our tournament.

The most competitive match was between Didier Pironi and Daniel Ricciardo. Our panel of five experts gave a slight advantage to the Renault DP World F1 Team driver, but the unwavering popularity of the Frenchman allowed him to reverse the trend and win with 54.7% of the votes.

In the next round, Didier Pironi will be pitted against none other than Lewis Hamilton, who defeated Jean Alesi with 61.9% of the votes

The duel was also tight between Charles Leclerc and Jacques Laffite. Our jury and fans were split, but the first driver to come out of the Formula Renault ranks to win a Grand Prix came out on top to advance to the quarter-finals with 55.6% of the votes.

Jacques Laffite will face Sebastien Vettel, who won his head-to-head battle Heikki Kovalainen with 73.5% of the votes.

Robert Kubica created the biggest shock in the quarters in defeating Kimi Räikkönen. After passing the preliminary round, the first driver to take the Formula Renault 3.5 Series title won over the majority of our panel and voters to tally 74.8% of the votes and eliminate the latest driver to make the jump from Formula Renault 2.0 to F1.

This week, the Pole will confront Finn Valtteri Bottas, who got the better of Patrick Tambay with 76.2% of the votes.

And finally, Alain Prost had no trouble in qualifying with 96.2.% of the votes in his match up against fellow Frenchman Olivier Panis. The Renault Sport Racing special advisor will next face his former team-mate at Renault, René Arnoux, who eliminated Felipe Massa with 79.1% of the votes.

The quarter-final draws are as follows:
Lewis Hamilton – Didier Pironi
Sebastian Vettel – Jacques Laffite
Robert Kubica – Valtteri Bottas
Alain Prost – René Arnoux

The first match up will be posted on on Tuesday May 26th at 14:00 CET, and each voting period will be for 24 hours. The other three contests will follow before the results and semi-finals are announced on Monday, June 1st.