Two titles to be decided at Barcelona finale

The 2017 Formula Renault Eurocup will reach its end at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. For the tenth and final meeting of the year, every competitor will try to leave their mark while all eyes will turn toward the duel to succeed Lando Norris as well as the three-way fight for the rookie crown.

Back on the calendar after a three-year absence, Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya will host the Formula Renault Eurocup for an enticing finale, which has often been the case in the past! For the first time this season, all the drivers will take part in single-group qualifying sessions to allow the young guns to battle amongst themselves at the most crucial moment of the season!

The final duel

Leader in the general classification with a 52.5-point lead, Sacha Fenestraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) will head to Catalonia with a psychological and numerical edge on the last remaining challenger, Will Palmer (R-ace GP). The victor of this duel will be offered a place in the Renault Sport Academy in 2018!

Despite the 75 points on offer, the Briton’s destiny is now no longer in his hands. To create a surprise, he will have to run strong and hope his rival encounters problems! For his part, Sacha Fenestraz can clinch the title in race one if he finishes ahead of Will Palmer.

Three-way fight for the rookie crown

In Barcelona, three other drivers will have a chance to win a title: Max Fewtrell (Tech 1 Racing), Daniel Ticktum (Arden Motorsport) and Yifei Ye (Josef Kaufmann Racing) will battle for the rookie crown.

While the Renault Sport Academy driver comes in with an 18-point advantage over the member of the Red Bull Junior Team, both will have to keep an eye on Yifei Ye. Despite being 42.5 points adrift, the Chinese driver is the only driver among them to have past experience in Barcelona and will arrive full of confidence after his first two victories in Formula Renault NEC at Hockenheim.

Top spots up for grabs

Eliminated from the race for the title, Max Defourny (R-ace GP), Robert Shwartzman (R-ace GP) and Gabriel Aubry (Tech 1 Racing) will battle for the remaining end of season podium positions. While he has a chance to finish second overall, Gabriel Aubry will need to pay close attention to team mate Max Fewtrell who can mathematically finish in the top five.

Also in the top ten, Alex Peroni (Fortec Motorsports) will attempt to bounce back to pull away from Red Bull Junior Team protégé, Richard Verschoor (MP Motorsport). Both have the advantage of knowing the track and having already enjoyed success there. The Australian won in V de V and the Dutchman triumphed in F4 España.

Further back, Neil Verhagen (MP Motorsport), also a member of the Red Bull programme, will aim for a big points haul as will Henrique Chaves (AVF by Adrián Vallés) and Thomas Randle (AVF by Adrián Vallés), who took part in the Formula V8 3.5 last year at Barcelona. Following his first podium in Formula Renault at Hockenheim, Alexander Vartanyan (JD Motorsport) will play the role of an outsider looking to find his way into the top ten.

One last stand

For the other competitors, the Barcelona meeting will offer the last chance to finish the season in style. Jarno Opmeer (MP Motorsport) will be one of the drivers hoping to add to his tally, but the Renault Sport Academy driver will not be the only one to want to show the progress he has made.

Thomas Maxwell (Tech 1 Racing), Raúl Guzmán (R-ace GP), Luis Leeds (Josef Kaufmann Racing), Alexey Korneev (Fortec Motorsports), Zane Goddard (Arden Motorsport), Presley Martono (Mark Burdett Motorsport) and Najiy Ayyad bin Abd Razak (Fortec Motorsports) share this goal with the 2018 season in mind.

For Thomas Neubauer (Tech 1 Racing), Axel Matus (AVF by Adrián Vallés), Ghislain Cordeel (Arden Motorsport), Jean-Baptiste Simmenauer (JD Motorsport), Julia Pankiewicz (Mark Burdett Motorsport), Sun Yue Yang (JD Motorsport) and Frank Bird (Fortec Motorsports), it is now to score their first points. Local driver, Xavier Lloveras (AVF by Adrián Vallés) will also try to get his first top ten result.

After winning the 2017 Teams’ Classification, R-ace GP will enter its usual quartet as well as Charles Milesi and Logan Sargeant, who finished third this season in British F4.


Friday October 27, 2017
11h50 – 12h40 Collective tests 1

16h35 – 17h25 Collective tests 2

Saturday October 28, 2017
9h00 – 9h30 Qualifying 1

12h35 – 13h02 Race 1

17h30 – 18h00 Qualifying 2

Sunday October 29, 2017
10h40 – 11h07 Race 2

16h00 – 16h27 Race 3

Entry list